Ode to a Haggis.

26 Jan

Happy Belated Burns Night everyone!

Yesterday was the wonderful Scottish holiday Burns Night, to celebrate the birthday of poet Robert Burns, in case you didn’t know. My Mum is Scottish, and my Dad will make any excuse to eat some meat, so we toasted to Burns’ poem Address to a Haggis with a glass of whisky. Then we ate a haggis. Have you tried haggis before? I have to admit I hadn’t, and the idea of eating a sheeps stomach was enough to turn mine. However, I gave it a go, and it was pretty damn tasty (if not a wee bit too spicy for me).

I keep seeing bloggers wearing tartan recently– I hope they all respected the tradition and adorned themselves for the occasion! I just went for this super cozy blanket/scarf/ cardigan thing. I don’t know what it’s called really- apart from awesome. Any suggestions?

This morning I went to the hospital for my final appointment and to hand back those crutches. The man kindly explained once more what exactly they did to me, as last time he tried to I was in recovery and was letting the anesthesia and morphine do its thang.  To be fair, hearing it completely sober didn’t enlighten me too much but I did see some pictures from inside my ankle. And he told me they drilled my bone with some fake cartilage and took all the excess scar tissue away from it. Fun, huh?

Right now I have a very important date with a cup of tea. Bye.

Boots: Barratts, Leggings and Under T-shirt: Marks and Spencer, Red Dress: Tesco, Cardigan: Gap, Blanket/Scarf/ Cardigan thing: Korean boutique.

13 Responses to “Ode to a Haggis.”

  1. Closet Fashionista January 26, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    Love your blanket/scarf thing! haha 😀
    And woohoo, not sure I could ever eat haggis…
    http://www.closet-fashionista.com/

  2. steffy January 27, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    cute color combo!

    xo,
    steffy
    http://steffysprosandcons.blogspot.com

  3. wardrobe experience January 28, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    gorgeous blanket/…-thing. love the colours so much…
    no haggis for me. vegetarian 😉

    http://wardrobexperience.blogspot.com

  4. Amber Rose January 28, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    How odd it must be to hear what was done. I’ve never had surgery before but the thought of being told about it afterwards.. interesting!

    Anyhow, you look so lovely. I’m insanely jealous of your hair’s texture.

  5. Jessica January 29, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    I love that cape. So beautiful.

  6. Vanessa January 29, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    This is such a great plaid, and I love how you wore it as a shawl.cape.scarf!

  7. Bonnie (@GlamKitten88) January 29, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    I really love your blanket/scarf/cardigan thing. The plaid is gorgeous, and it looks great with the boots you are wearing!

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  8. Mary Ann January 30, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    You look so warm and cozy in the blanket! 🙂

  9. Denise January 30, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    I loved your blog! I thank you so much for your sweet words towards me! And that was the chance for me to get to know your blog! Great! As for the explanation of haggis, mmmhhh… good that it was tasty! (I don’t eat any meat…) And I read the “About me” part and found we have some things in common – I also studied English language and Literature, among other things, and also travelled (and still do) quite a lot!
    Have a great week!!!!

  10. Tracy January 30, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    I would call that a hooded cape. Or a cozy blanket wrap. you look fab!

    Haggis? Oh man, my stomach fully turned when I was reading that. I’m a vegetarian, so that might explain it. Glad you enjoyed it though. I wish you could see the look on my face. Not pretty.

    I love how they try to explain things to you in the recovery room. It’s so dumb, like you can remember any of that when you’re high as a kite.

    Keep making me laugh. You are awesome.

  11. Blue Vanilla January 30, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    Fun poncho! Love the colors!
    xx

    Hot Pink Day
    Shop Blue Vanilla

  12. laura February 1, 2012 at 4:32 am #

    how in the heck did I not know about Burns day? what is wrong with me? I have never had haggis before, but I am sure I would like it if I ate it with rice.

  13. Claire February 3, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    love the orange and blue! that blanket look so comfy too!

    http://spinning-threads.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

