Guest Post- The Closet Shopper.

2 Jan

Today my wonderfully witty and charming blogger friend Tracy from The Closet Shopper will be sharing with us how her fear became her passion.

Hi you guys. My name is Tracy from The Closet Shopper. Amy asked me to write a guest post while she’s recovering from surgery. Get well soon, my funny and stylish friend!
Amy suggested the topic of FEAR for these guest posts. Well, honey, I can definitely relate to fear. So, here’s my story.
I’ve been terrified of heights my entire life. I couldn’t walk across a bridge without having a panic attack. It was anxiety producing to even drive over a bridge. I would have to stay in the middle lane. I was too afraid of what might happen if I drove near the edge.
About seven years ago, I decided to try to deal with this fear. To face it head on. So, do you know what I did? I took a flying trapeze class. That’s right. I know! Stupid. But let me tell you what happened. I walked into the circus school and I looked up at the platform, thirty feet in the air. A very small ladder leading toward it. I couldn’t breathe. I thought, “Get me out of here. What was I thinking?” As I was thinking this, I was being inundated with rules and being fitted with a safety belt. Before I knew it I was climbing up that ladder. My knees were sweating. Standing from the perch, my breathing was shallow and I couldn’t look down. The instructor on the “board” grabbed my safety belt and led me to the trapeze bar, holding it in front of me with a hook. She told me to grab the bar. WHAT?? I don’t think so. But the only way down was to swing. They won’t let you climb back down that ladder.
I was crying and shaking but I grabbed the bar. The instructor said, “READY……HEP” and I jumped. I JUMPED. And I screamed. And I flew through the air. I was flying. And it was the most terrifying thing. And by the end of the class I was ready to make a catch. This is the most exhilarating part about flying through the air. The catch. You have to trust that the person on the other trapeze is going to grab you and not let go while they swing you through the air.
I actually made that catch. It was thrilling and freeing. It was the feeling I got from my very first catch that kept me coming back. I was hooked. Not to the adrenalin as much as to the freedom. The letting go of the fear. The trust and courage it takes to just let go completely.
Since then I’ve been addicted to the circus. I not only became a flyer, but an aerialist. I perform on the side and it’s a huge part of my life. I’ve attached a video below of me flying without safety lines. This video was taken after I became an advanced flyer. I’m also attaching photos of some of my favorite moments in the air on static trapeze and aerial tissue.
I hope you enjoyed reading about how I gained a deeper respect of heights. I can’t say I conquered my fear because it’s still very scary. But I’m working on it.

A video of Tracy at Work – How amazing??!! 🙂

10 Responses to “Guest Post- The Closet Shopper.”

  1. Tracy January 2, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    Thanks for asking me to do this. I had so much fun writing it and remembering how I worked through this fear. It looks like the link to the video isn’t working, so here it is

    xoxoxo to you my sweet Amy

  2. Style Journey January 2, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    Tracy is amazing! We love that she decided to face her fear of heights head on and found something that she loved doing. The photos are fabulous!

    Heather & Kayla

  3. Ashley January 2, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    I actually teared up.

    Tracy, I didn’t know it was your fear that led you to do circus things! How brave. Maybe I could become a snake handler, then?

    • Tracy January 2, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

      Awww, Ashley. That’s so sweet. Snake handling it is. Anything I can do to help?

      xo,
      Tracy

  4. Silvergirl January 2, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    you go girl!!!
    i love that one of you in the black with the pink ribbon around your waist and your gorg hair flying!!
    brett

  5. shybiker January 3, 2012 at 1:28 am #

    This is why Tracy is my hero. How can we not respect someone who faces their fear head-on? Courage is sexy.

    • Tracy January 3, 2012 at 5:46 am #

      Mwah! Love you, Ally!!

  6. Kim January 3, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    This is awesome! I didn’t know this about Tracy and I subscribe to her blog. I’ve always admired anyone that can do that. 🙂 She is multi-talented! A doll!

    http://averysweetblog.com/

  7. fashionsastranger January 3, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    Tracy you are amazingly talented and brave! I love you!!! xx

    • Tracy January 3, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      awww, Miss Amy! I love you too! Thank you for letting me talk about this. I had a blast writing this for you.

Leave a Reply

