Guest Post: Girl Next Door Fashion.

20 Dec

Today the charming Charlotte from Girl Next Door Fashion is letting us into her life and soul. Unfortunately her Grandad passed away at the weekend, so please think of her family at this time… Get some tissues at the ready…

Hey guys!
Amy asked me to do a blog post while she’s away having surgery (good luck, Amy!) and I had a good ol’ ponder on what to write about. See, I’ve never been in hospital (touch wood!) and one thing we talked about was a post on things that scare us. But didn’t seem like a very cheery topic to be blogging about! So I thought about getting through the hard stuff in life, and coming out of it stronger on the other side.
2011 has been a rollercoaster year for me. One of the best, and then one of the hardest. It’s almost like my year was cut right down the middle.
Up until June, looking back, at least, my life was pretty damn great. I was living in America, living the dream, I had an amazing group of friends and a wonderful boyfriend. I was getting straight As in all my classes, I had a chance to travel and I was in the country that I loved.
But it was when I left that things started to fall apart. I was in a long-distance relationship with my whole life. The country I loved, the life I had, my boyfriend and my friends. Everything was different. Everything was removed. I hated England, hated being back here. I hated being back living with my parents after months of living in a different country, doing what I liked. I hated being back at my supermarket job where I didn’t feel challenged. And I hated missing my boyfriend.
In June, I crashed my car. My car was a complete write off. I got away with a bruised sternum and very bruised knees, but it could have been much worse. In August, I was told my grandad was going to die. And a few days later, the man who I thought I was going to spend the rest of my life with broke up with me.
The break up in particular, hit me the hardest. Weeks of crying, barely eating, unable to concentrate on anything except the questions going round and round in my head. Desperate to talk to him, and then terrified of talking to him. Talking about him constantly. Crying all the time.
I never thought it would stop hurting.
But I knew I had to get through it.
“Getting through” things is a strange concept. But the bottom line is, we don’t have a choice. Well, no, we do. But most of the time we chose to get on with our lives. Clocks don’t stop, days don’t stop rolling into weeks, into months, just because we’re in pain. Life doesn’t stop. We are told time is a great healer when we go through great pain, and this advice isn’t helpful when we’re impatient for the hurt to go away. But eventually, it does. Or at least, it lessens.
One day I woke up and it didn’t hurt so much.
And a few weeks later, my ex-boyfriend came over to England, and I met up with him. Another great trauma, both before and after. And I thought that pain would never go away. But it did.
All pain hurts. And we have to let it hurt. We have to accept that hurt to be able to move on. And sometimes we’re impatient, willing the pain to leave us. But we have to embrace that pain. And when we’re ready, usually before we think we are, we’ll be ready to move on with our lives.
Sometimes we have to look back and think about what we’ve learnt. All pain is a chance to learn and to grow. To discover ourselves. What we’re capable of.
If someone had told me 6 months ago that my boyfriend would break up with me, I don’t think I would have thought I could cope. But I did. I made it through to the other side.
And I am a stronger person as a result.
My Grandad is still going, but weaker by the day. I love him and don’t want to lose him, but I know when the moment comes I will get through it. Because I have to. And because I’m stronger than I think.
6 Responses to “Guest Post: Girl Next Door Fashion.”

  1. Cakes and Shakes... December 20, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Hey, great guest post! I will be sure to check out your blog. Meanwhile, I nominated this blog for “Most Versatile Blog of the Year”, and you can find out more details on my website: http://www.cakesandshakes.wordpress.com

  2. Amber December 20, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    Your year has been tough but you will be stronger because of it. Hope 2012 treats you much better.

  3. francesca R December 20, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    Very intense guest post. I am sorry for what happened during the past year but I see that you are a positive persone! Hope you’ll have a great 2012.

  4. Mitha Komala December 21, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    such a nice and lovely quote from the first picture, i love. :)) and, awesome writing dear! great post ❤ xx

    http://mithakomala.blogspot.com/

  5. saphira thenalia December 22, 2011 at 4:27 am #

    I often to remember about my pass…even memories are worth the pain, but it’ll be alright to keep it, isn’t it??hehe
    LOVE, saphira

  6. wynne prasetyo December 22, 2011 at 5:01 am #

    this post is so powerful and inspiring. i’m sorry for what happened to you, how much pain you have to endure 😦 i’m glad you came back stronger than ever. that was life challenging and testing how strong you are, and you’ve proven to be unbreakable. proud of you, girl 🙂

    MY INTERNATIONAL GIVEAWAY featuring UNESTABLISH

    http://WWW.FASHIONGEEKSCLOSET.COM

Leave a Reply

