Oh Birdie.

23 Nov

Oh no. I just went and disappeared again. Whoopsie.

I find it hard to blog when I’m not at home. Does anyone else find that? I went down South for a fabulous surprise party for my boyfriend’s parents. It was their 30th Wedding Anniversary, impressive, huh? We should all learn something from them. Not least their ability to keep their cool when a bunch of people they haven’t seen for a while shout SURPRISE. Their very own son did exactly the same thing for me for my last birthday in Korea. SCARIEST. MOMENT. OF. MY. LIFE. TO. DATE. They took it much more gracefully than me. The party was in Dover, and I received a lovely text message welcoming me to France and telling me to enjoy my trip. As much as I appreciate Orange’s attempt to make me feel at home, I’m not sure I feel so appreciative of the European prices.*

I’m keeping this short and sweet, because today is my Papa’s 60th Birthday, and I must go and spoil him. Hope everyone is getting over that mid-week hump. I have that lurgy that is going around and my nose feels like it’s going to fall off with blowing it. The Rudolph… not my best look.

*I’m doing a good job of teaching you guys recently, don’t you think? That’s why my students always called me ‘AMY TEEEAAACCCHHHEEEERRR’. Today’s lesson is Geography. Dover is in England. Not France.

Boots: Tesco, Tights: Marks and Spencer, Dress: ModCloth, Scarf: Topshop.

20 Responses to “Oh Birdie.”

  1. Ashley November 23, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Cute dress! I like the pattern mixing. I’ve never been thrown a surprise party. I think I’d like it, though. Minus the peeing yourself part. You know. And yes, it IS hard to blog when you’re not home…I remember when I’d go visit my ex-boyfriend, we’d have to make a special trip to a place with internet just so I could blog for a few hours. My priorities were right on, weren’t they?

    Happy birthday to your dad!

    P.S. I got your email and will definitely include a surgery story. 🙂

  2. Tracy November 23, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Lurgy? I love this word. I’m going to try to make it a common American word now. Thanks, Amy teeeeeaaaaacchhheeeeerrrrrrrrr.

    You look too cute in that dress. Love the boots and that ring is so awesome.

    xoxo

  3. Amber Blue Bird November 23, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    You know I love anything and everything birdie related 🙂 Such a cute dress. PS hope to have my post to you this weekend.

  4. Anna November 23, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    I love the pattern and style of your dress. It suits you so well! I also like your jewelry – it’s whimsical, fun, and unique (just like what I’d look for in jewelry).

    Happy birthday to your dad!

  5. BROKEN.WHIMSY November 24, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    haha your commentary s so funny =) I love learning new things through this blogging experience. Dover=England, NOT France 😛 Anyway looking so cute in yout outfit. Im adoring how you’re clashing (yet matching) all these patterns together! ^_^

    Eeli

  6. Tiago Aleixo November 24, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    First time in your blog and I’m loving it!
    I gonna follow you!!

    Follow me back

    Tiago Aleixo
    http://the3rt.blogspot.com
    @the3rt on twitter

  7. Silvia November 24, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    I love your dress and rings. Have a lovely day. <3<3

    http://www.lovesushiandfashion.blogspot.com

  8. prettyniftythriftyfashion November 24, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    oh i love your booties!!!! and the colour of your tights is awesome 🙂

  9. Mri November 24, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Happy birthday to your dad 😀 😀

    xxx, Mri

  10. Francesca R November 24, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    Happy Nirthday to your father! I love your dress and the booties!!

  11. Sarah November 25, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Happy belated birthday to your dad! I can’t believe orange thought you were in France when you were in Dover, the prices to send texts and calls must have been crazy! I love your dress, and your tights go perfectly with it!

    Sarah
    xo

    http://www.almostdelightful.com

  12. Leah November 25, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    I love your necklace 🙂

  13. Blue Vanilla November 26, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    Such a cool print on that dress!
    xx
    Hot Pink Day
    Shop Blue Vanilla

  14. oomph. November 26, 2011 at 7:52 am #

    i’ve thrown surprise parties, been to surprise parties, but never had one thrown for me. boo, lol! your ship (right?) necklace is too cute!

    [oomph.]
    What’s the next line? Help write the story!

  15. mythriftycloset.blogspot.com November 26, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    lovely sweet dress, you made it look quirky chic with the cute mix of patterns and colors. Nice, I like it. The purple tights are fabulous. You’re funny. ha..I hate surprises too, I always warn my husband not to pull any on me. His friends do it to him all the time, and they once appear at the door while he was at home in his boxers. Happy birthday to your papa! Have a wonderful weekend!

    mongs
    mythriftycloset.blogspot.com

  16. Mitha Komala November 26, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    omg, awesome boots and ring! i want them 😀 you look gorgeous dear ❤

    http://mithakomala.blogspot.com/

  17. Niko November 26, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Great boots and rings, I love them! Happy B-day to your dad!

  18. Rach November 27, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    Love your dress and scarf! Hope that your dad had an awesome bday!!!

  19. dusanabotswana December 1, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    Love the bright colors on that dress & super cute boots. A surprise party sounds fun, I always wanted one but the only one I got someone ruined the surprise before. Oh well… someday. Thanks for the lesson on Dover too, I really had no idea, oops ; )

    http://dusanabotswana.com/

Leave a Reply

