Cotton Heaven.

12 Nov

Well, I think we’ve seen all of the sites the North West of England has to offer over the past few weeks. It’s quite odd feeling like a tourist in your own area, don’t you think?

Yesterday’s trip was to Quarry Bank, an old textiles mill from the Industrial Revolution. It was absolutely riviting to see how they used to create cotton. Let me tell you, it was a pretty grueling job. Did you ever read Mary Barton, by Elizabeth Gaskell? It was pretty much like that, except they didn’t all get the love of a rich man, and if they lost their sight, they probably weren’t going to miraculously get it back. I have to say, I like to think I’m quite a hard-working and uncomplaining person, but you would never get me working in those conditions. No siree.

You might think I’m a bit of a loser for revelling in all of these fabulous historic sites. You know what I’d say to that? Boo, you. Learn yourself some history. I’d suggest starting with a Drunk History and progressing from there. And if you can tell me that you’re not wearing something cotton, thus disregarding what a crucial part this mill played in history? Well, then I’ll eat my words, yum yum*. Hope everyone is having a good weekend. What was the most interesting thing you last went to see?

p.s- aren’t my shoes annoyingly white? I would invite you all, one-by-one, to come and stand on them and make them look more normal. But I’m not gonna.

*If you are not wearing ANY clothes, please do not contact.  

Shoes and Cardigan: Primark, Tights: Marks & Spencer, Skirt: H&M, Plaid Shirt: Boutique in Korea, Scarf: ModCloth, Handbag: Handmade in Greece.

28 Responses to “Cotton Heaven.”

  1. Mitha Komala November 12, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    no i havent watched My Sassy Girl, but I want to and I think I will 🙂 as now I’m still on Baker King 😀 u love to watch k-drama too? anyway, i love your bag dear. you look lovely. ❤

    http://mithakomala.blogspot.com/

  2. Mri November 12, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    I loooove your clothes ! love love love them ❤
    Your shoes are very white, but it doesn't bother me haha :p
    You look great, nah!
    My weekend is/was good 🙂 I went to a party last night with my boyfriend 🙂 I still have to work a lot for school, but oh well.
    How is/was your weekend?
    Hmm… The most interesting thing I went to see was the exposition "Dangerously Young' 🙂

    xxx, Mri

  3. Northern style November 12, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Great post. Ver interesting stuff about cotton

  4. Isa November 12, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    You look so cute! Love the outfit!

    Follow me 🙂
    http://www.amazinglybe-au-tiful.blogspot.com

    Xox

  5. Alice November 12, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    lol..i like the asterisk disclaimer!

  6. Francesca R November 12, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    White-white and cool!! I love tha cardi too!

  7. Silvia November 12, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Great outfit and post! Have a lovely weekend. <3<3

    http://www.lovesushiandfashion.blogspot.com

  8. Una November 12, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    /thanks for the comment hun..

    i like this post.

    do u wanna follow each other?

    lemme know hun

  9. BROKEN.WHIMSY November 12, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    Awww I love me some historic visiting 😉 We just had a trip up to Milton to look at the old yarn factory. Pretty interesting stuff there and oh my goodness! Were the yarns absolutely gorgeous there! haha.

    Cute outfit dear. The pink and blue checkered shirt is all sorts of adorable ^_^

    xx

  10. cecylia November 13, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    beautiful visit! Love your satchel!
    Come follow my blog darling! xx
    http://cecylia.com

  11. saphira thenalia November 13, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    love that blue blue knit!!lovable 😉
    http://secondvogue.blogspot.com/a

  12. michelle November 13, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    lovely styling 🙂

  13. Style Journey November 13, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    Love your plaid top and colored tights. Its fun exploring the history of the town you live in. Looks like you are having a good time.

  14. Sarah November 13, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    I love going to historical places too. Lovely outfit, I love the colour of your cardigan.

    Sarah
    xo

    http://www.almostdelightful.com

  15. Jupe November 14, 2011 at 4:02 am #

    I’m so extremely and excessively jealous of you!!! I studied British history (17th-18th centuries) in college…and I’ve DREAMED of visiting sites like these. What an amazing opportunity…someday I’m coming to England 😉

    LOVE the white tennies…they are so cute and look awfully great with that plaid top! Following you…

    ❤ Cambria
    jupefashion.blogspot.com

  16. mythriftycloset.blogspot.com November 14, 2011 at 5:03 am #

    I like the layering, the short skirt looks cute on you. I like contrasting colors of the shoes and tights, yes I would love to help you step on it haha…if I’m near you. I like your adorable satchel bag too. I enjoy your pictures of north west england. If I can’t be there, at least I know how it looks like. Have fun!

    Thank you for all your lovely comments! too.

    mongs
    mythriftycloset.blogspot.com

  17. Mint November 14, 2011 at 5:52 am #

    I would be a tourist in my area, however my area has absolutely nothing to offer! Haha.

    Wida
    Missing Amsie Blog

  18. oomph. November 14, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    i’m definitely overdue for some historical sightseeing. i love all of your layering, and tennis shoes are supposed to be white 🙂 i think they are the only shoes that are allowed to be that white!!

    [oomph.]
    What’s the next line? Help write the story!

  19. Vanessa November 14, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    I love tourist-ing (traveling? Yes, traveling!) in my own backyard. so much fun! This looks like another cool discovery!

  20. Blue Vanilla November 14, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Too cute! Looks like a fun and interesting place to visit!
    xx

    Hot Pink Day
    Shop Blue Vanilla

  21. Bonnie (@GlamKitten88) November 14, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    This outfit is adorable! I like it because it is playful and cute, but it keeps the fashion.

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  22. Margaret November 15, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    The first thing that popped in my head when I saw those cotton mills and you mentioning Gaskell and Northwest UK, I instantly thought, “North and South!” But turns out you were thinking of a different book by Gaskell. I never heard of that one, though…

  23. Francesca November 15, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Haha your shoes look fine to me! The cleaner the better I say!

    http://opinionslave.blogspot.com
    / twitter: @opinionslave

  24. Thu November 16, 2011 at 2:13 am #

    Love the color of that cardigan on you. I love history and historical sites. I’ve been on the freedom trail in Boston a million times and never get bored of it!

  25. Ly November 16, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    I love your outfit. Super cute.

    -Ly
    http://www.lyzhang.com

  26. Rach November 16, 2011 at 6:23 am #

    Love the color of this cardigan. great styling!

    http://www.sugarfilledcloset.com

  27. Leah November 17, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Love your jacket she’s look very comfy 🙂

  28. dressupsandmessups November 17, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    I love cotton. And I love this layered up look.

    ❤ Rachel

Leave a Reply

