I Went to Another Place.

8 Nov

Being outshone by a cast-iron naked man, eh? Let me tell you, it sucks.

In this instance I will let it slide though, because it’s not any old man. Oh no no no. It’s Anthony Gormley; an awfully famous and talented fellow. (Yes, I said ‘fellow’…) 100 of his cast iron figures face out to sea on the beach of Crosby in the North West of England. They create a piece of art formally known as ‘Another Place’, and we went for a little jaunt down to see them. (Yes, I said ‘jaunt’)*.

It’s getting a bit chilly here, and I’m not going to lie, my old winter coat won’t fit if I am wearing anything thicker than a t-shirt under it. I took off my extra two cardigans to take these pictures, because I am not sure wearing 7 layers is a good look for me….

* You might have noticed I have aged about 60 years since my last post. I have been going to sleep before 10pm and I think the jargon stems from 11 hours sleep a night.

Boots: Bronx, Tights: Marks and Spencer, Skirt: American Apparel, Knit Jumper: Thrifted, Fingerless Gloves and Hat: H&M, Scarf: A Little Boutique in Korea, Leather Bag: Bought in Greece.

19 Responses to “I Went to Another Place.”

  1. Catherine November 8, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    Public art is cool. And it’s not that you’re outshone… it’s just that he’s made of metal and reflects more sunlight! You look cute, and would have looked cute still in seven more layers!

    Thanks for stopping by The Spring and leaving a lovely blogiversary message!

    Catherine @ The Spring

  2. Catherine @ The Spring November 8, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    Public art is cool. And it’s not that you’re outshone… it’s just that he’s made of metal and reflects more sunlight! You look cute, and would have looked cute still in seven more layers!

    Thanks for stopping by The Spring and leaving a lovely blogiversary message!

    Catherine

  3. Laura November 8, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    Oh I love little posts about random places in the UK it always makes me realise how many places I need to visit in this country let alone the rest of the world!! Yikes it suddenly got cold didn’t it?! I’ve been layering too, love the colours in this outfit!

    L x

  4. Tracy November 8, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    Ok, so I was laughing for that entire read. You are hilarious. We will get along just fine on your next trip to SF. Can’t WAIT!!

    I love this fantastic outfit. It’s casual but with a wonderful flare. The color combination is great.

    xoxo

  5. Blue Vanilla November 8, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    wow! Thats interesting and very cool…crazy artists! 🙂
    xx

    Hot Pink Day
    Shop Blue Vanilla

  6. Bonnie (@GlamKitten88) November 8, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    Art scares me, sometimes. You should see the art that we have on campus. I don’t even know what half that stuff is.

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  7. Amber Blue Bird November 8, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    definitely a unique creation and he so does not show you up 🙂

  8. thu November 9, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    I also love public art but some of them do look quite scary. This one is quite hilarious though – or maybe it’s just your commentations 😉 You are so cute. Love your fall outfit.

  9. prettyniftythriftyfashion November 9, 2011 at 1:59 am #

    oh i love your boots, public art is so interesting there is nothing out of the ordinary in my very small town i cant wait to move to the city!!

  10. mythriftycloset.blogspot.com November 9, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    hehe…very funny sculpture, and thank you for using the bag to cover the vital part. You look cute, I love the colors, pastel blue (?) and red is fabulous. The hat is adorable! And happy hibernating…when you need to sleep, you need to sleep.

    mongs
    mythriftycloset.blogspot.com

  11. dusanabotswana November 9, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    I always love public art but this is especially awesome since it’s on the beach! & hehe don’t worry, show us the layers! You def don’t look older, always good to sleep a lot! Fun pics too. Thanks for your kind words of support girl, it means so much : )

    http://dusanabotswana.com/

  12. Cakes and Shakes... November 9, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Hope that chap stays put, was reading about the theft of metal WW2 statues & memorials in the UK the other day – some people habe no class!!

    http://www.cakesandshakes.wordpress.com

  13. Hannah November 9, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    love this post, i really want to see these!! anthony gormley designed the angel of the north which is near me 🙂

    raspberrykitsch.blogspot.com

    xx

  14. Sam November 9, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    The statue looks kinda scary, but pretty cool. I love art like this.

    Sam

  15. Sherin November 10, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    This place looks amazing. I love discovering new places!

  16. Ana November 10, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Lovely outfit!

    xx

  17. Chic Geek November 10, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Thanks for your comment, cute post 🙂

    http://chicgeekblogger.blogspot.com/

    Please take a minute to look at my trunkshow;

    http://iouproject.com/tsh/jessica-karen/

  18. Alice November 11, 2011 at 2:30 am #

    lol at “being outshone” by him!! you are too funny lol. i love the blue/aqua of your sweater, its one of my favorite colors to wear!

  19. northern style exposure November 12, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    great post! love the colour of that sweater

    http://www.northernstyle.blog.com

Leave a Reply

