Bonfire Rainforest.

4 Nov

Happy Friday everyone! I hope you’ve all had a splendid week. Did you have a ton of Halloween fun? I fell victim to this flu-ey thing going round and fell asleep at 8pm on Monday night. That’s how I roll. But I’m back to my bouncy self and looking forward to a bit of firework action this weekend.

Do y’all know about bonfire night? Obviously you Brits do, but elsewhere in the world? Basically, Guy Fawkes tried to blow up the Houses of Parliament with Gunpowder on 5th November 1605. He failed. Now every year we set off fireworks to celebrate his failure. And as an excuse to eat too much sweet stuff and coo over the pretty colours, of course.* Maybe you’ve seen V for Vendetta? That should have cleared up the narrative (ahem…)

Tonight we shall spend family time setting off a few fireworks. I know we’re a day early, but tomorrow we’re heading down to Birmingham once again to see my football (soccer) team play. Pretty sure that won’t make the best outfit photos. I am wearing an old ModCloth dress that I purchased when I interned with them a few years ago. I was always convinced that only tall people can pull off the maxi. In fact, I think I still am. What do you think? What are you all doing this weekend? Whatever you do, have fun. x

*I’m pretty sure I’d make an ace history teacher, don’t you think?

Dress: ModCloth, Tee: Target, Wedges: Dorothy Perkins, Necklace: New York Metropoliton Museum of Art, Silver Bracelet: Links of London, Button Bracelet: handmade.

12 Responses to “Bonfire Rainforest.”

  1. Ashley November 4, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    I’m 5’2″ and wear maxi dresses all the time, so I disagree with you! And I think you pull this off wonderfully.

    Well, Happy Bonfire Night. I remember hearing about this from a British teacher I had in high school. It seemed so random to me. Still does. Be careful with the fireworks. Don’t have an accident. I know people with missing fingers. It can happen.

  2. Analisa November 6, 2011 at 2:17 am #

    Your dress is so pretty! And I didn’t even think you were short until you said so, haha I think you pull this off perfectly!

    JewelMint giveaway on my blog by the way if you’re interested 🙂

  3. Vanessa, Take only Memories November 6, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    What a gorgeous dress!

  4. Adelekim November 6, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Love your dress!

    xoxo

  5. BROKEN.WHIMSY November 7, 2011 at 3:30 am #

    Naw what a cute very flirty and very fun outfit you have on hun. Just a whole bunch of really lovely colours here ^_^

    Its actually my bday on ‘guy fawkes’ day but we dont celebrate it very much here in NZ =) Hope you had a blast hun haha.

    Eeli

  6. www.thehandbagsandgladrags.blogspot.com November 7, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    This is a lovely dress it really suits you 🙂 x

  7. Charmaine November 7, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    I’ve only been to one bonfire night. There was the one fireworks display we went to, but from up on the hill you could see 12 others going on around other parts of London. It was good fun.

  8. Celia November 7, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    This is such a lovely look, I’ve never thought to layer under a maxi dress, it looks great!x

  9. Kileen Cheng (@kileencheng) November 8, 2011 at 4:34 am #

    i love the maxi on you and great idea to layer a shirt underneath! enjoy the fireworks!

    cute & little

  10. Mri November 8, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    I love your dress! ❤
    And I love fireworks 😀
    I had a great halloween!
    I had some trouble staying awake first, but I drank some energy drink xD and well… We all kept each other awake 🙂 Just V. couldn't keep his eyes open xD
    I'm gonna make cupcakes for christmas too I think ^^
    I so wish I could send you a cupcake …

    with love, Mri

  11. oomph. November 8, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    have to disagree about maxis…i’m 5’2 and LOVE them! i think you look great in yours, and that links of london bracelet is awesome!

    thanks for the bit of history….good reason to celebrate,eh?

    [oomph.]
    What’s the next line? Help write the story!

  12. Vanessa November 11, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Guy Fawkes, man of mystery! You look lovely in this maxi. I enjoy the print so much.

Leave a Reply

