Skinny and Not-So-Skinny Love.

19 Oct

There are two reasons for the title of this post today. The first is that I am going to see Bon Iver in Manchester with my sister tonight and I am E-X-C-I-T-E-D. The second is because this bloody weight loss thing keeps hacking my twitter account and (in the voice of MacKenzie from Toddlers and Tiara’s*) it’s drivin’ me nuts. I want them to know I am NOT serious about weight loss. I am serious about eating what I want, when I want it. In fact, my Dad said to me recently ‘you’re appetite is big these days, isn’t it? That’s good, because you never used to be very good at eating, did you?!’ If eating was a skill, I’d be the master, y’all. And his dig at my lack of eating talent in the past refers to a period of vegetarianism.

The surrounding areas of my house in England do not quite match the beauty of those at my brother’s abode in San Francisco. Sorry about that, but what ya gonna do? Also, it’s absolutely FREEZING here, and I’m saving my energy for the concert. I bought this dress for $8 in San Francisco. I’m trying to come to terms with the fact that my summer wardrobe must be replaced, not by an autumn one, but a winter one. I feel like I’ve skipped a season in my gallivanting from one side of the world to the other, and it doesn’t seem very fair. Hey ho. How is your week going? What concert would you most like to go see tonight?

*If you haven’t seen this, do it. NOW. You may just want to punch this child in the face.

p.s- How cute is my cat, Jess?!

Dress: Buffalo Exchange, Vest: New Look, Cardigan: ASDA, Tights: Marks and Spencer, Wedges: Some Shoe Shop in Korea.

24 Responses to “Skinny and Not-So-Skinny Love.”

  1. Mitha Komala October 19, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    i love your wedges and sweater! you look lovely dear ❀

    follow me if you love to, and i'll follow you back πŸ™‚

    http://mithakomala.blogspot.com/

  2. Amber Rose October 19, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    First, I’m SO envious. You have to tell me all about the concert, please? xoxo

    Second, food is good. Speaking of food, I’m eating a pickle.

    Last, you look beautiful. x

  3. devorelebeaumonstre. October 19, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    pretty. x

    devorelebeaumonstre.com

  4. Sherin October 20, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    I love food. I always eat what I want, when I want. I actually end up putting weight when I watch what I’m eating…weird!
    Love the dress. It’s so pretty.

  5. Cakes and Shakes... October 20, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    OMG, so jealous, can’t believe you will get to see Bon Iver!! They are amazing, I recently discovered them and it’s musical love! Have a blast and take lots of pics!

    Thanks for stopping by the old blog,

    Cakes
    http://www.cakesandshakes.wordpress.com

  6. Alice October 20, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    are those leaves on your dress? too cute!

  7. my thrifty closet October 20, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    wow should be a great concert, I like concerts too, but it cost so much here, I attended one retro one, standing (skin to skin) ticket, open air and cost me $80, and had to queue to get in, it’s ridiculous! Btw great outfit, I like how you incorporated a summer dress into your fall outfit. The long cardi just what I need!

    love,mongs
    mythriftycloset.blogspot.com

  8. Ana October 20, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Great outfit!

    xx

  9. Ashley October 20, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Bon Iver is my FAVORITE. You don’t know how incredibly jealous I am ! Beautiful outfit aswell, would love to see what you wore to the concert ! x

  10. m October 20, 2011 at 5:56 pm #

    awww the cat! πŸ˜€ nice dress!
    http://spliffedcookies.blogspot.com/

  11. Kristen October 20, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    I am extremely jealous of you going to see Bon Iver tonight! Good work with the tights with a summer dress! That’s lovely!

  12. niina October 20, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    There’s that something with eating. I was a super picky eater when I was a kid. I mean SUPER PICKY! Now’s there’s so much to cath up on, I could eat forever, haha :). Love food!

    Hope you had a great time at the concert!

    //Niina πŸ™‚

  13. Sophie-Marie October 20, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    Dear Urban-Decay-Mascara-Buddy,

    1) I hate technology!!! I had finished my (long, obviously) reply when all of the sudden, the browser closed. Maybe it’s Karma/Fate/Nature/Something Supernatural telling me I should make it shorter.
    2) As always, thanks for your comment! I like them all! Can’t wait for your guest-post! It’s excitiiing! πŸ™‚ And green is AurΓ©lie’s mother’s favourite colour too!!!
    3) LOVE your outfit, congrats on the good dress bargain! And now you’ve convinced me to try sandals with stockings!! Will soon! And you’ll see me in red also!
    4) Too bad straight hair didn’t work on you; you know, I think that with your face shape and hair length/colour, you could try retro pin-curls. I’ve seen these on Zara mannequins at the mall (I can email you a pic if you want), with, despite modern clothes, the red lipstick
    and violet eyes that definitely meant Elizabeth Taylor!
    5) Let’s find each other on social networks! What are your facebook/twitter links? I cannot seem to find them on your blog

    Don’t worry about leaving long replies, it’s always a pleasure πŸ™‚

    Love,
    S
    http://mademoisellesonushka.blogspot.com

  14. Sophie-Marie October 20, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Oh, nearly forgot!! The cat’s adoorable!! You’re lucky she’d let you pick her up long enough for a picture… My neighbour’s, who’s always squatting my bed, hates being picked up… πŸ˜₯

  15. Rose October 20, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    First off all, thank you so much for your lovely comment on our blog!
    Also, LOVELY DRESS….I really like styling long cardis with equal length-dresses, it looks uniform but at the same time, not too pulled together. Do you know what I mean? I guess it has the perfect casual/cute look, without looking slobby!

    -Rose

  16. skippysays October 21, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    Are you in SF permanently now? Or just visiting? It’s always so nice to meet another SF blogger πŸ™‚ Love your dress!
    http://www.saysskippy.blogspot.com

  17. Bonnie (@GlamKitten88) October 21, 2011 at 3:41 am #

    I love this outfit on you! You look really adorable.

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  18. Sian October 21, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Pretty dress!! You look so cute in it, and I love the wedges with the tights =) Eurgh it must feel horrible coming from those lovely warm temperatures to this haha!

  19. Tracy October 21, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    Have fun at the concert. This outfit is super cute. And you found it in SF? That’s so cool. Next time you’re here visiting your brother, let’s meet for coffee or tea? That might be fun.

    Ok, also? Is it ok to hate a child? Because I’m pretty sure I hate that one. But I think I should just hate her parents, right? They created the monster. haha.

  20. marissa October 22, 2011 at 5:50 am #

    I love your dress!
    xxx
    Marissa

  21. meredith October 22, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    hahaha, ditto. i LOVE me some food. yum. πŸ™‚

  22. Cortnie Elizabeth October 23, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    I love cardigans with dresses! I’m a fan of pretty much anything if it’s knit.

    xo,Cortnie
    http://stylelustpages.com

  23. Vanessa October 24, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Pretty outfit. I love the tights with the sandals, and the floral dress is very lovely.

  24. Leah October 30, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Love your dress !

Leave a Reply

