Oh Jeju We Lava You.

9 Jun

Dress: vintage, Cardigan and Shorts: Primark.

I’m one of those people that leave things until the very last minute. And then, I’m one of those people that realise I have too much to do and no time to do it. Whoops. Anyway, I wanted to share all my stories from our trip away to Jeju island, but you’d be snoring by the time I’m done with that. Also, I’m pretty forgetful and would without a doubt forget some crucial information. I wish I had some better pictures, my canon often doesn’t do images justice. I took some pictures with my mini Diana camera that my girls bought me for my birthday, but it’s not quite time for those to be developed yet.

So, Jeju is a volcanic island filled with lava caves, hence that awful attempt at a pun in the title of this post. That probably made 60% of you guys click away at the start, so I praise you for getting this far. I went on this trip with my boy, his sister and her hubby. On our first night we stayed in a quirky hostel. After we arrived we dumped our bags and walked down to Gwakgi beach on the west of the island. Honestly, there was absolutely nothing to be seen, no signs of life, except for thousands and thousands of garlic cloves along the side of the road. And we were gutted that the sun we left in Daegu had turned into mist (a continuous condition over our 5 days), but we had some fun anyway.

This is my name in Korean

Then we went to Love Land. We didn’t really know what we were letting ourselves in for, and the romance we expected appeared rather differently  as hundreds and hundreds of penises…

The second day we went to Hallim Park, which was a great mix of tropical animals, plants and lava caves.

When we got our money out, we were very careful to press the right button on the cash machine. We really didn’t want 100,000 fish instead of 100,000 Korean Won.

The third day we went to some famous waterfalls where, according to legend, a Chinese King sent one of his followers in search of the elixir of life. Apparently they found it… but we didn’t.

The forth day we climbed a trail of Halla Mountain. This mountain is a dormant volcano, and is set in the centre of the island. Once again, the skies weren’t clear enough for my pictures to do justice of the breathtaking views, but it was pretty special.

The fifth and final day we went to see sunrise peak which was pretty impressive except for the cloud of fog over and under it. It’s supposed to be the best sunrise in Korea- we missed that bit! We also went and did a maze and to some more lava tubes…

So, that’s a brief look at our trip. I am quite sad it’s over really. Especially because I’m cutting this blog short cause I have to get off to work now. Where are you holidaying this year?

2 Responses to “Oh Jeju We Lava You.”

  1. Ashley June 9, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    I’m in awe of this Love Land stuff! In Korea?! Really. I thought this would be frowned upon about a million times. I have so much to learn.

    Thanks for sharing these pictures with us…looks like a great time! I love your posts. 🙂

  2. Rin Hyun-Jung Chae June 14, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    wow !!! Im happy because you seem to enjoy the life in Korea. 🙂
    Anyway , these pictures are so nice !!! how envy you are !!
    We need to meet soon !! hope you had a lovely day !!
    xxx

Leave a Reply

