I’d Like to Teach the World to Love Fashion… But For Now I’ll Just Stick to the English.

24 Mar

Oh, how amusing being a teacher can be. While I feel I’m losing my soul a little bit, often a kid can just turn my bad mood upside down and I find the whole process pretty rewarding. Like 7 year old Sally who had left this pot of chicken/ drink for me at the start of our class yesterday…

They can leave you feeling perplexed too. Two kids of the same age can be completely different. For example, when I asked one 6th grade class to write about their Christmas, their responses were what I would call ‘varied’. One boy wrote about discovering Santa Claus is not real (which obviously is a confusion…) while another wrote this:

If you can’t make it out, a brief summary is ‘a guy plans a surprise for his girlfriend but when he finds her she is ‘playing’ with another man.’ What a tragic story. And for a kid to come out with that, in a language that isn’t his native, is baffling!

Then there was the 8 year old who I called up to phone teach.

Me: ‘What’s your favourite food?’

Bakro: ‘I like Amy Teacher’

Now, while I would normally clear up that situation quickly, I was not in a teacher mood so I proceeded to ask ‘why?’

Bakro: ‘because… because… you… are…. beautiful.’

I warned my boyfriend who was unfazed about the threat…! It’s crazy though, how one crazy little child can make a bad mood good. Kids, oh kids. I’m exhausted all the time. I’ve lost my mind, my fashion sense and the ability to think like a human for 7 hours a day. But sometimes, just sometimes, I really don’t mind it at all, and I can see myself doing this forever…

Leave a Reply

