Top 10… People I Wish I Had Met Before They Died.

2 Mar

The third in my series of wish lists; here is a little run down of people I wish I’d met before they died. It took a lot of restraint not to fill this post with poets, authors and musicians, and these categories are still pretty dominant. Oh well… in no particular order…

10. Andy Warhol. He was a printmaker, a painter, filmmaker and writer, and probably the first figure to come to mind when the topic of the movement ‘popart’ comes into conversation. When I stayed in Pittsburgh, his home city, I visited his museum, and was surprised about how much I didn’t know about his life. I really enjoy the philosophizing of Andy Warhol; his vanity, his greed, the way he describes the monotony of real life, and the places where he gets his inspiration. He is a genius, and the fact that he doesn’t attempt to hide these vile traits make him all the more interesting to me. I love his contribution to music, particularly his adopted band The Velvet Underground. I love that he once said ‘Buying is much more American than thinking, and I’m as American as they come’. The Philosophy of Andy Warhol is a favourite book of mine. I definitely recommend it, fo’ sho’.

9. William Shakespeare. Because, well, you know!

8. Rosa Parks. After spending my college years studying civil rights, I always found a real interest in how such bad things such as racism could have happened, and still do happen. Rosa Parks was a catalyst for the start of the 1960s bus boycott in Montgomery a civil rights movement that changed history.

7. Edie Sedgwick. Style icon and natural beauty- Edie Sedgwick was an inspiration to the music of Bob Dylan, and the musings of Andy Warhol. She is still well known in the world of famedom, and was recently played by Sienna Miller in the 2008 film- Factory Girl. More information on this beauty can be found here on this cute and quirky website: on this day in fashion. She died of a drug overdose in 1971, at the tender age of 28.

6.  Roy of the Rovers. OK, so I know this is cheating, because, well, he was never alive to begin with, but I am a big football (soccer…) fan, and the fictional footballer Roy Race, who played for Melchester United, was a sporting legend. His football career ended in 1993 when he lost of a foot in an accident (so I believe, although I was a little young to be mourning…). According to my father, his achievements were phenomenal… although maybe this is because the story often involved Melchester as the underdogs, creating a soft spot in our family of die-hard Villa fans.

5. George Harrison. Because lets face it, he was without a doubt the best Beatle…. the most modest and the most talented.

4.  Oscar Wilde. I love how Wilde wrote in epigraphs which, although confused the hell out of me at times, always made me ponder life and existence. He wrote; ‘life imitates art more than art imitates life’. His greed and life choices are interesting to me in a way similar to Warhol, and I think can be used as a microcosm for the evils of human kind, he once said; ‘I can resist anything but temptation…’

3. My Grandparents that I never got chance to meet. I know it’s a tad cheesy, but I’ve always wondered where I get some of my features and characteristics- and I have a sneaking suspicion this would answer some questions…

2. Alexander McQueen. Because his designs, execution of clothing and contribution to fashion was simply incredible. He combined beauty with the idea of a woman’s strength which resulted in the most divine clothing.

1. Elvis Presley. Like I said, this is in no particular order, but I have to admit, I think Elvis is a god. When I was staying in Pittsburgh, PA for a few months, I took a trip to Memphis on my own. This was due to a love for him, and a love for all kinds of music. This wonderfully eclectic city saw the beginning of many different types of music, and I appreciated visiting his home, Sun Studio’s where he first recorded (albeit a little sneakily), wandering up and down Beale Street, going to the Stax museum, and many more attractions.

Who would you like to have met before they died?

Leave a Reply

