Got the Chop…

20 Jan

Last week I did something brave. I have been in Korea for 5 months now, and my curly hair was getting a bit out of control. I couldn’t get a brush through it, and it was looking a bit lifeless. So, after saying I was going to get it done everyday for about a month, I finally worked up the courage. I asked one of my Korean co-workers to write down what a wanted- a minimum amount off the length and a few more layers through it- and clutching this little piece of paper I entered a swish looking salon where they don’t speak a word of English and handed it over. I’m very proud of myself for this, I even managed a bit of Korean communication with the girl (she told me I was pretty, which I politely declined, and I ordered a coffee…) It was cheap too, only 10,000 won (around £6). However, I don’t particularly like what I left the place with. She cut it as if I have Korean hair (very thick and straight) and now I feel my curls have lost their character. Boo. I have been growing my hair since I went through my serious indie-cindy faze 4-5 years ago which ended abruptly with a nasty Karen O style bowl cut, which I DO NOT have the face shape to pull off. I’m a little sad about the several inches that landed on the floor last week, but hey, it’ll grow back. What kind of issues do you have with hair?

3 Responses to “Got the Chop…”

  1. Amy January 22, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    STOP DISSING THE KAREN-O BOWL CUT! You looked awesome!

  2. Charlotte- University of Birmingham January 22, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    my issue used to be having to constantly colouring it when it was pink, which is less of a problem now i’ve dyed my pink out!!
    at the moment it’s now growing fast enough!! usually when I have a little bob it grows out in minutes and now i’m trying to grow it it’s taking forever!!

    Charlotte
    htt://www.girlnextdoorfashion.net

  3. Sian January 27, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    I think it looks really good =) I wish I had naturally curly hair, whenever I even try to curl it, within about 2 hours its straighter than it was before (don’t know how that works, but it does!!). £6?! That’s amazing!! I had my hair done today (it was dyed too) and it cost £45 =( Luckily my mum paid for some of it haha =D
    Love
    Sian xx

Leave a Reply

