Top 10 New Year’s Resolutions.

6 Jan

One of my friends mentioned the other day that he never keeps his New Year’s resolution and he sets the same one every year. Then another friend proceeded to ask ‘why don’t you set more reasonable and achievable goals then…? What was it all these years anyway?’ ‘To drink more water’ was his response. We all had a little laugh at his answer, considering it seems like a simple thing; to drink more water. I like to set New Year’s goals that nobody can actually claim I failed at. This year I’ve decided to be more positive. Who can judge whether I was successful or not?! It’s always been a flaw of mine; to expect the worst. However pessimism, while it isn’t the most attractive trait, has meant I’m never really disappointed, because expecting the worst just means that I’m happier than most when things do go my way. People always set themselves up for failure, in my opinion. Why give up chocolate, for example? Because you’ll only feel worse when you end up sneaking a bar of dairy milk in a few weeks, in fact you’ll feel worse than when had exactly the same calorific bar a week before Christmas.

So, I thought I’d compile a list of the top 10 New Year’s Resolution- a mix of the best/worst/most original out there. Here they are, in no particular order…

10- lose weight. Why do we torture ourselves with such difficult and not enjoyable exercises? Myself, I’m aiming to stay the same weight. Every morning my boyfriend wakes up early to do a workout while I get an extra hour in bed- if I can maintain my current weigh in, I know who the real winner is!

9- ‘According to some poll or another number 1 on most peoples resolutions list is to spend more time with friends and family. I say go it one step better. Start showing up at strangers family gatherings and pretend you are family. Saves time and money if you live far away from your own. Plus usually family gatherings have free food. Avoid having to explain yourself by excusing yourself from conversation whenever someone approaches. Good excuses to have ready: you’ve got a huge case of explosive diarrhea, you have a very contagious disease, you recently became allergic to other people, you’re drunk and about to vomit…’ Words found here

8- Get out of debt. It’s a standard resolution that unfortunately many people have to work towards. Myself, I just left the country. I do get the odd phone call from my nervous Mum when a letter from the student loans company arrives at our house, but while I’m not within the UK and earning, then the law says I don’t have to worry… so Mum… don’t worry!

7- Quit drinking and smoking. It’s a difficult one, and I think beginning such a big challenge after a few days off from work, makes you desperate for such things, especially when you see the pile of work you left lying on your desk until you got back to it. I don’t smoke, but I do enjoy the occasional glass of wine. For New Year, my resolution in this category is to not drink through the week… unless it’s a special occasion.

6- Do volunteer work. Ohhhh…

5- Enjoy life more. I like to group this particular resolution with my own: ‘be more positive’; and the standard, ‘say yes more’.

4- Be more organised. Send out birthday cards and presents on time rather than 2 weeks after (when the travel time from Korea to England is around 2 weeks anyway…). Tidy the house. Keep in contact with friends. Recycle the boxes of paper I have at work. Remember to blog… Tidy the house again…

3- Find your soulmate. But, I have to say, I wouldn’t go looking… I’m a stickler for that old chestnut ‘It’ll come when you least expect it…’

2- ‘I will stop considering other people’s feelings when they so obviously don’t consider mine – if that unwashed fellow sits next to me again, I’ll tell him he stinks!’ Found here.

1- I will learn the words to Auld Lang Syne. I even had to google it to remember how to spell it, and it’s always a little embarrassing when the clock chimes and I avoid every lyric except ‘should old acquaintance be forgot…’ and ‘for auld lang syne…’

2 Responses to “Top 10 New Year’s Resolutions.”

  1. Charlotte- University of Birmingham January 6, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    I have a whole 17 new year’s resolutions and yes, one is to lose weight!!
    mine every year is to stop biting my nails- i never do it!!

    Charlotte
    http://www.girlnextdoorfashion.net

  2. Amber Blue Bird January 6, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    i will try out number 9 but if I get arrested its on you 🙂

Leave a Reply

