Ugly Beautiful… Life Through the Looking Glass.

15 Dec

Charlotte from Girlnextdoorfashion.

 

I love this skirt that was sent to me through The Lovely Ones, our super duper clothing swap. This came from the delightful Charlotte, of girlnextdoorfashion. She definitely rocks this item better than me, but the few days I’ve possessed it I’ve admired it, and have been sad about the prospect of letting it go.  I feel a kindred spirit with said blogger. We were pointed towards each other by a friend at ModCloth.com, and weirdly enough are from half an hour from each other in England, but are both now on other side of the world. Let’s see how I decided to style it…

 

Alice in Wonderland Tee: Zara, Cardigan: Primark, Skirt: from girlnextdoorfashion through The Lovely Ones, Shoes: Topshop, Hat: Korean Subway Shop.

I love the surroundings of our apartment, they are so… Korean! And in a way, they are so ugly, that they are enchanting and beautiful to me. I’ve always been that way inclined; to find appeal in things that most would find unattractive. I feel there is an honesty in it, and that is what I need; in people, in clothes, in my passions… in my life. Perfection is completely boring. And so from now on my outfit photos will generally always be taken a stones throw from our humble abode. It is perfect to me. It shows me what life used to be like, before we walk ten minutes towards the subway and we’re struck with Dunkin’ Donuts, Burger King and Starbucks and the real world of mass consumerism rears it’s ugly head once more.

 

4 Responses to “Ugly Beautiful… Life Through the Looking Glass.”

  1. Charlotte- University of Birmingham December 15, 2010 at 2:47 am #

    ahhh Amy I really love the way you’ve worn this :]]]
    And I definitely feel the same way about you :]]
    I’m really inspired for new ways to wear this skirt now- thank you!!
    This swap is so much fun :]]

    Charlotte xxx
    http://www.girlnextdoorfashion.net

  2. Amber Blue Bird December 15, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    very cute, I like the skirt on both of you. super cute red hat

  3. Laura December 16, 2010 at 12:00 am #

    Love how you styled the skirt 🙂 Looks really great with the print t-shirt 🙂

    L x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in review… Let’s boost it in 2011! « - January 18, 2011

    […] Ugly Beautiful… Life Through the Looking Glass. December 2010 3 comments 4 […]

Leave a Reply

