My current style icon: Laura Marling.

27 Aug

Image from here

Do you ever listen to the same album to death and then have to lock it away because it’s been so overplayed it kills your ears when you hear it again? Of course you have- we all have. However, I think I’ve listened to Laura Marling’s Alas, I Cannot Swim enough times over the past twelve months to say that that feeling should have sunk in by now, I Speak Because I Can is reaching similar numbers, but it just hasn’t had that effect. I can even forgive that she is SO talented and sings as if she’s seen the world three times over- despite being two years younger than my naive, ignorant self. And she is stunning-  her messy innocent features complimenting her folky melodies perfectly, oh Laura, I love you.

Leave a Reply

