Change the record…

13 Aug

A few of my records…

A few weeks ago I was at a party when a (relatively good-looking) guy sat next to me and started chatting, which I was open to after a few glasses of wine. However, he had quite spectacularly managed to offend me within about 2 minutes and 23 seconds, jokingly asking: ‘how are you going to teach English with that Northern accent?’ Now, for those that don’t know me, or my voice, my accent isn’t that Northern or indecipherable, and I immediately dismissed him a Southern t*** and took my glass of wine elsewhere.

However, then my friend reminded me of those childhood days when the boys tugged your hair to ‘let you know that they like you’- that was what my Mum always told me anyway. He came back up to me and tried to chat again. Then he asked me what kind of music I liked. I hate that question. I LOVE music, and I never quite know where to begin to answer. I can’t say I like all music, because as I read in one of my beach books, that just means you don’t ‘love’ any. So I told him. I said, to be honest I mainly love and listen to things like the Beatles, and Fleetwood Mac, and Paul Simon, and Bob Dylan, and Belle and Sebastian. And then he said ‘no, that’s what your parents like, what do you like?’ Ouch. It reminded me of the time my Mum looked through my CD collection and said ‘don’t you have anything more up-to-date?’ No, no I don’t. Ouch. Am I old before my time? In my first year at University, (with some help from my wonderful sister and father), I bought a very large record player for £10 from a flea market on the coast. I have loved it and cherished it ever since, and three years later when it was time to leave my beloved university city I somehow managed to persuade my parents I couldn’t live without it, and that they simply HAD to store it until I was back from travelling and had a home of my own.

My beloved record player and I…

Now. I’ve heard it all before, and no, I really am NOT pretentious and pretending to be ‘vintage’. I simply love the way it sounds, the crackles send shivers down my spine, and there really isn’t a better way to listen to Blood on the Tracks or Graceland. When I was 18 years-old, I did think I was super cool, a self-professed indie-cindy with a Karen O bowl cut that looked positively ghastly. And now, well I’m a little lazy, and I stick to what I know and love. I don’t really see the problem with that…

4 Responses to “Change the record…”

  1. Amy August 14, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    I’ll have you know I was quite fond of that bowl cut missy!x

  2. Molly August 17, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    ello missus! Didn’t I have something to do with that Record player 😦

    • fashionsastranger August 17, 2010 at 8:42 am #

      Yyyyeeeeesss you did. You helped persuade Dad that it would work and was a good idea. And let me have it 🙂 you’re the best, and the blog has been amended! x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in review… Let’s boost it in 2011! « - January 18, 2011

    […] Change the record… August 2010 3 comments […]

Leave a Reply

