Hola, Barcelona!

22 Jun

In Park Guell, Barcelona

Ok, so I’ve broken one of my resolutions already. Poor, I know. However, I feel I may have an excuse for my few days off from blogging; I’ve spent the weekend in Barcelona, Spain. My best friend has been living there for a year, and who am I to pass up some free accommodation in what I would argue to be one of the most exciting and vibrant cities in Europe, perhaps even the world? Here I am in Park Guell, designed by the architect Antoni Gaudi. It is one of the gems of the city, from the mosaic patterns in the ‘market place’, to the quirky houses that didn’t quite make Gaudi’s desired transition into a ‘neighbourhood’ setting. It’s just beautiful, as was the weather. I went for the classic aviators to ward away those pesky rays on my eyes, with a strapless flowered dress, for smooth tan purposes. I popped my bikini underneath, so when we hit the beach later, to have some sangria in the sun, I was totally ready for it! What a fabulous weekend, so much tapas and sangria, great company, and a great excuse to don my lovely summer dresses that have spent the winter in England hidden away. Bliss!

Leave a Reply

